Pillars of Ibaadah

Posted on February 22, 2007. Filed under: 101 - Ruboobiyyah and Uloohiyyah |

These are the motivational factors of worship. To perfect our worship needs 3 factors. To have only one is a weakness and will lead to deviation. Full spirituality is based on these 3 emotions: Love, Fear, and Hope.

These 3 pillars are all combined in one ayah,

Those whom they call upon [like ‘Iesa] desire (for themselves) means of access to their Lord (Allah), as to which of them should be the nearest and they [‘Iesa (Jesus), ‘Uzair (Ezra), angels, etc.] hope for His Mercy and fear His Torment. Verily, the Torment of your Lord is something to be afraid of! (17:57)

Surah al-Fatihah also alludes to this. The first ayah shows love, the second shows hope, and then the next ayah shows fear. And then based on this we do worship Allah as occurs in the 4th ayah. Amazingly, the ayaat showing us the categories of tawheed also show the pillars of ibaadah.

The parable of a bird can explain this. The heart of a bird is love, and the 2 wings are hope and fear.

Love is the primary emotion, but the other two are needed as well. Love is the heart of the bird, but the wings of fear and hope propel it forward.

People at different levels should focus on what they need most. For example, a person involved in a major sin should try to focus on fear. None of them can be done at complete exclusion of the other. One example of this is the Christians who worship based on love only.

  • Subscribe

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

%d bloggers like this: